My life as a reality TV star

Follow along with me as I join the rich and famous for one week…oh wait….just the famous…not the rich as I don’t get paid!  It is puzzling to me how a TV show that stands to make hundreds of thousands of dollars in advertising on our little show would not pay each and every person that is required to be in the show not “just the home buyer whom they hope spends the $ on improving their new home.”  After all, they are demanding that I be available all day every day for a week armed with several changes of clothes and the ability to “fake” a situation.  Did you know that most of the houses they show as homes the potential buyer (the star of the show) declined are not really available and the rooms you see may not even belong to the exterior of the home they show?  That’s showbiz, folks!

Oh well…fool that I am, I did agree to be in the show without compensation (as a favor to my friend) and for exposure for my design business, so on with the show.

Day one:

Much more fun than I anticipated!  If you know me then you know that I am not comfortable in front of a camera, to say the least.  And adlibbing (sp?) is not my forte; I am always the loser in any charades game!  But the crew made the job seem so much easier so once I calmed down a bit I was able to remember the few lines they gave me.  First interview took several takes but by the end of the day we were getting it right pretty much right off the bat.  At least that is what we thought…who knows what the crew was saying about us at the end of the day. My delicate ego will not allow me to think too many negative thoughts so I will choose to believe they thought we were delightful!!

I came one wardrobe change short but managed to fake a different look with a borrowed scarf.  If you check out the photos floating around on facebook you will agree with me that women with a bountiful bosom should not wear ruffly scarves!!  Oh yea, WTF??  Where were the hair and makeup people, craft services and my personalized trailer?  They must arrive on day two…..

Our adorable and very patient crew, gorgeous Brittany (producer) John 1 and John 2 (director and sound guy) Mike from Seattle (camera)

All “miked” up for the day. Thank goodness for spandex!

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

