Let there be lighting fixtures for my remodel

While living through a remodel is not something I want to ever do again, I must admit that it has been fun planning and shopping for all the fun new items.  Lighting is a big purchase so I thought I would share my choices with you:

This is the hallway light fixture that will direct light onto a painting and point the way to the guest bath in a very dark and small hallway downstairs.  Being able to find the bathroom is always important!

The pendants that will hang over the kitchen peninsula match the stairway pendant.  For some reason I am in love with clear glass options….looks like an ice cube or, better yet, a diamond.

The fireplace will be flanked by two sconces that will provide such ambience….anyone ready for an intimate party?

The piece de resistance, the dining room chandelier.  Notice the clear glass balls again….( she says somewhat tongue in cheek)

The track lighting was purchased at Bellacor Lighting, the sconces from Lamps Plus Professionals and the rest of the lighting from Pottery Barn.  If you are in need of new lighting let me know as I can get a pretty good trade discount at these stores.

Design tip:  Some “experts” feel that the finish of your lighting fixtures must match.  For example, my pendant lights should be stainless to match my appliances and kitchen fixtures.  I felt the oil rubbed bronze warmed the room up a bit (and they weren’t available in stainless) I believe there are no rules and what works best for you, works.  As you can see, I have stainless, oil rubbed bronze and matte gold in my lighting fixtures and it all works fine.

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts