Throw pillows are your friend

I admit it….I am a pillow junkie.  I can’t help myself….I come to a point where I say out loud “I will not buy anymore pillows” and then something like this beauty

catches my eye.  Sigh!!

Follow along as I share some of my favorites this year that just might join my always growing collection of throw pillows.

Velvet is still a home decorating trend this year and these pillows from Pottery Barn come in a variety of colors.  Purchase a matching pair for the sofa or just use a rainbow of pillows for a colorful change.  The velvet texture is perfect for the fall and winter season.

design pillows velvet from pottery barn

I am a huge fan of the HGTV show “Fixer Upper.”  Joanna has designed a collection of pillows that are somewhat pricey but oh so beautiful.  (similar designs can be found at West Elm for less $) I saw some of these in person at their store in Waco, TX and they are well-made and substantial and will add that rustic and graphic punch to your home.  While these colors do not work in my home I think they are so pretty and I love the lumbar shape…I may just have to pick up the sage green colorway.  Somebody stop me now!!

Don’t overlook the big box stores for real pillow bargains.  Target, Walmart and even Costco can be great sources for inexpensive accent pillows for both indoors and outdoors.  This floral pillow from Walmart is less than $15!!  The dimension and design hint at a much higher price.

design pillow from walmart

Love the romantic touch this jacquard pillow will add to my master bedroom.  Many items in my home feature a black contrast welt so I think this will work great.  And did you look at that price!?

design pillow floral jacquard from west elm

I really like smaller pillows tossed onto a chair.  If you use a mini size (12×12, 14×14 etc) it is a good idea to make sure the pillow has an interesting design; a small solid pillow will just get lost in the room.  This small pillow will be making its debut in my living room this Halloween season

design pillow chihuahua from pier 1

What are your favorite pillows in your home?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

