Ten things that made me happy in May

April showers bring May flowers but what do May showers bring?  We had torrential rain in May, very unexpected and somewhat unpleasant.  But there are always sunny skies ahead.  Here are ten things that made the month of May special to me:

  1.  Those rain showers did not stop these two munchkins from playing outdoors.  This pic would make anyone happy!ellan and brendan playing in rain may 2017
  2. Two visits from my daughter.  Anytime she is sleeping under our roof, all seems right with the world.
  3. Disneyland with the grandkids.  I have not been to the park in many, many years and it was so fun to experience it once again through the eyes of little ones.  It is always magical, no matter what your age!ella and bren with us in disneyland may 2017
  4. Visits from out of town friends.  We had a month full of out of town visitors, some we have not seen for over 40 years!
  5. Maui, Hawaii.  Our visit in April extended into May so I am going to add it to this list as well.  Just the mention of Maui makes me happy.
  6. Simple fixes.  I have been searching for the perfect set of outdoor porch lights for 4 years now and just could not find something that would work.  Enter my magician of a handyman who simply cleaned up and spray painted my existing lights and they are perfect.  And the best part is that there is no touch up painting or stucco repair necessary as there would have been with new lights.  Makes this girl very happy!
  7. Breakfast in bed and my daughter in town, nothing could make me happier!jenna breakfast tray on mom day 2
  8. The first baseball game of the season for us.  While our local team, the SD Padres, have long been pretty much the worst team in ALL leagues I do enjoy going to the games and eating a hotdog and watching the planes fly over the beautiful skyline.  This game was made even more fun as our friends came down from central California and joined us.  After all, everything is better when shared with friends, right?
  9. Anyone heard of Readers.com?  After just spending over $700 for new glasses at the optometrist I visited this site to get an affordable pair of sunglasses I could use to read outdoors.  With a 40% off coupon they cost me a total of about $9 including shipping and they arrived within just a couple of days along with another 40% off coupon.  Definitely worth a visit and I think they will make you as happy as they made me.
  10. When back-ordered fabric becomes available!!  As many of you know, finding the right fabric for an upholstery project can be a daunting task, made even more so once you find it only to discover it is back-ordered for who knows how long.  The opposite feeling to that is when you receive notice that the yardage you need has been made available.   This designer is very happy…let’s get this project started!

    design robert allen fabric cheetah velvet from beacon hill

    Velvet from Beacon Hill

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

