Ten things that made me happy in April

I love the month of April.  I love the warm and breezy days that signal spring has arrived in San Diego.  I love all the colorful clothes in the stores and I love the flowers that are growing everywhere! I love the anticipation of summer just around the corner and I love the longer days that make it possible to watch the sunset from many vantage points around town.

  1.  The fact that stores like Target were actually closed on Easter Sunday.  We all move way too fast and fill our calendars with activities that make us feel important and involved but I think it is time to remember how wonderful Sundays were when we were growing up.  Nothing was opened so the day was spent with the whole family either at the park or indoors.  (I spent my early youth in Indiana while my Dad was in college so weather was a factor)  Summers were spent in Arkansas with my grandparents and Sundays were truly a day of rest and family dinners.  Thank you Target and Nordstrom and Costco and anyone else who acknowledges the value of recognizing these holidays.  Makes me happy!
  2.  The California super bloom.  I witnessed some of this in person driving to Northern California where entire hills were orange or yellow.  It was stunning and made me and my travel mate, Sandy, so very happy!

  3. Being as in love today as I was 30 years ago when I married my husband and celebrating in our usual way (quiet dinner at the same restaurant) makes me very happy.  I feel so lucky to have a solid and happy marriage!
  4. Maui, Hawaii.  What else needs to be said.
  5. Be still my heart!  Don’t know if you followed this but here is a link.april the giraffe being kissed by mom
  6. “Fixer Upper” is one of my favorite HGTV shows, for many reasons.  I love the new line of pillows designed by Joanna Gaines that, while a bit pricey, are right on trend but not trendy and offers soft and muted colors that will work in any decor.  This is one of my favorites but visit Pier1 to see the entire collection of pillows and rugs.

    design pillow from joanna gaines

    Magnolia Homes pillow via Pier1

  7. As I get older the simple things in life give me great pleasure.  Card nights with friends, shopping trips with a bestie even if we buy nothing, a completed design project, Old McDonalds (as they call it) with the grandbabies, my list goes on and on.  What are the simple things you enjoy?
  8. Friends who drop off big pots of hot soup and buttered bread when they find out you are STILL sick with that damn cold!!  You’re the best, Kate!
  9. My post on the women in my life last month did not include two very important women, my two aunts–Kay and Sarah.  One is my father’s sister and the other is my mother’s sister.  Both of my parents are gone so they are the only connection I have to my parents.  These two women have been around my entire life (obviously) and I so appreciate their presence, their quiet southern demeanor and their commitment to family and community.  They are truly role models in every sense of the word.
  10. I have had a long love affair with Picasso and Jonathan Adler so pretty much any artwork with a face makes me happy.  My daughter feels the same way so I purchased this little vase for her which she promptly filled with one of our favorite flowers..tulips.  For these reasons this picture makes me very happy.  Picasso, yellow tulips and black and white accents…scrumptious.  (and a daughter who shares my design aesthetic!)

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

