I want to live here

i-could-live-here-from-williams-sonoma

Welcome to the second installment of my “I want to live here” series where I feature rooms that appeal to me so much tha I actually want to live in them.

As the song says, this room features a few of my favorite things–A fire and a Christmas tree, wood paneled shelves, leather furniture, large windows, red plaid and row upon row of books.  Combine all these elements and you come up with a beautiful and inviting environment.  Other elements that make this room so livable include:

  • A mix of design styles with contemporary furnishings anchored by a traditionally styled mirror, for example.
  • That acrylic coffee table that literally disappears, allowing a full view of the roaring fire from any angle
  • Simple wood bookcases filled to the gills with your favorite reads
  • A mix of textures i.e. smooth metal table and furniture legs, wood bookshelves, grainy leather, woven rug atop shiny wood floors
  • Colorful pillows and throws that celebrate the season and could easily be switched out for other seasons.
  • Thoughtfully chosen decorative items that eliminate clutter including the tree that has not been over-done.  Very tasteful!
  • Simple fireplace. I am not usually a fan of large, carved wood mantels and fireplace surrounds.  The beauty of the black stone set against the high polished metal on this fireplace is stunning!
  • A view of snow-laden trees will always capture my attention.

Most everything in this room is available at Williams-Sonoma Home, online and in their retail stores.

Is this a room you could live in?

 

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

