You won’t need a glue gun for these five fall home decor projects

Like most people,I am often initimidated by the beautiful and supposedly simple
” DIY” projects that dominate the internet.  I am never able to replicate them so I don’t even try.  But I do get a good laugh over those “I tried” posts that share photos of attempts to master a look such as the one below attempted by my own beloved, and usually very talented, daughter.  First photo is the inspiration–an adorable cake made to look like a slice of watermelon:

watermelon-cake

and my daughter’s attempt:

watermelon-cake-jens-version

Makes me chuckle every time I look at it!

 

Because of all of this I decided to create a list of fall home decor projects that do not require the use of a glue or nail gun, seamstress skills or even an imagination.  These very talented people have tackled all of that for you and all you have to do is (dare I say it?) copy them.  Here are five of my favorites:

  1.  Fall leaves are an iconic symbol of the season and they are so beautiful both on the trees and covering the sidewalks and roadways once they fall off the trees.  Preserve this beauty with this incredibly simple idea—place a colorful leaf between the glass panes of a rustic wooden frame and Voila!–instant autumnal artwork.

    2. Mother nature does the work for you with these rocks naturally shaped like a heart nestled atop a collection of fallen foliage.  Place this grouping in a bowl on your coffee table or use it as a dining table centerpiece and you are all set.  Nary a glue gun to be found with this one!

    fall-leaves-and-rocks-in-heart-shape-from-lisa-leonard-facebook

    via LML art

    3. A trip to the pumpkin farm and local nursery where you can stock up on those giant cauliflower looking plants and your fall porch will be camera ready.

    fall-porch-full-of-pumpkins-from-kate-trongale-near-west-harrison-ny

    Photo by Kate Trongale near W. Harrison NY

    4. Items from your grocery store are perfect for simple centerpieces and will last all season long.  Buy your favorite nuts still in their shell or select beautifully shaped vegetables like the artichokes shown and fill a simple clear glass vessel, surround it with a few fallen leaves picked from your own front yard and you have a centerpiece that will carry you through from the beginning of fall to the Thanksgiving holiday.  Even easier—-a bag of unpopped popcorn and tri-colored pasta poured into glass canisters or mason jars for kitchen decor.

    autumn-centerpiece

    source unknown

    5.  The simplest and easiest way to incorporate lovely DIY fall decor without having to use small tools is to visit a site like Etsy and order from your favorite store.  A wreath is a popular way to welcome guests to your home and I am particularly fond of the simple twine one with fabric flowers (seen on the right) from A Work of Heart on Etsy.

    fall-wreath-from-etsy-a-work-of-heart

    via Etsy shop A Work of Heart

    There you have it—five incredibly simple ways to add fall decor to your home without lifting a finger other than on the keyboard.  What’s your favorite?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in holiday decorating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

