Ten things that made me happy in September

  1.  Flowers always make me happy and this photo of pretty in pink hydrangeas placed in a room by Stacy Mclennan and photographed by Stacey Van Berkel is just so pretty!  This blush pink is my go-to color this fall.

    2.  More flowers.  My friend’s garden.  Welcome to fall in San Diego!

    lisas-garden

    Imagine waking up to this every morning!  Courtesy of Lisa Leonard Art Group

    3.  Design decisions.  We have struggled with the lighting plan of a client’s “refresh” and now that the decisions are made, I am very happy.  As many of you know, it is difficult to refresh an older home and deal with all the architectural quirks that were trendy at the time.  Will share some photos when the project is complete.

  2. 4.  Not being able to control this numbering system and not letting it bother me makes me happy.  Life is too short, right?
  3. 5.  Jimmy Smits.  Wow…does this gorgeous hunk of a man ever age???  Just caught a glimpse of him on the Emmy’s and he looks exactly the same as he did when he played Sifuentes on one of my all time favorite shows “LA Law”.  I am sure that ages me.  Also loved “Thirty Something” so now you know I am really old!
  4. The fact that this election year will be over in just one short month.  I have never seen the likes of this campaign in all my years and the way it has divided people and the vitriolic behavior of those on both sides is exhausting to watch and read and listen to so this girl will be SO HAPPY to have it all end regardless of the outcome.
  5. The beginning of football season (I’m a fan) and the fact that the Chargers have  at least won a game!  In San Diego we celebrate the little victories as they can be few and far between.
  6. OMG…please let me win the lottery so I can visit the MIT Glass Lab pumpkin patch next year!  To see more pumpkin heaven check out my pinterest page.
  7. This very colorful bedroom makes me very happy.  I am not usually a fan of groupings of plates hung on the wall but this whole room is just so cheerful and charming.  And the story behind the bedroom is even more compelling so visit her blog and read about how she rebuilt her home after it burned to the ground.  Something many of us here in San Diego can relate to and think about around this time every year.

  8. Having my daughter stay with us for a week before she moves away makes me very happy.  I forgot how nice it is to sit with someone and watch TV and giggle and talk.  I will miss her SO much but this is supposed to be a happy blog, right?
  9. New fabric collections. This gorgeous grouping from Duralee’s Highland Court Intermix collection is right up my alley–graphic patterns in neutral colors with a bold touch of black..aaaaaah!deesign-pattern-fabric-mix-from-duralee-highland-court-intermix-collection-fall-2016Duralee Highland Court 
  10. In light of my husband’s recent emergency open heart surgery, this photo says it all and brought a real smile to my face!  Mooooooocow-black-and-white-cow-from-decor-8-daily-blogphoto courtesy of Decor 8
About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten things that made me happy in September

  1. hayniedi says:

    Thanks Lulu. It is certainly an exercise in searching for the positive every month but seems to work. And your beautiful posts always brighten my day as well so we have a mutual admiration society. 🙂

    Like

  2. lulu says:

    It made me happy just reading your post!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

