The return of the cafe curtain

I grew up in a home with curtains.  We had cafe curtains at the kitchen window and sheer curtains hanging on the living room windows and curtains in fun prints on the bedroom windows.  And when we would move to a new home the curtains and curtain rods followed us  (my Dad was in the Navy so we moved occasionally) and my mother would hope they would fit the new windows.  And somehow they always did!

There is a difference between draperies and curtains.  Draperies are usually more formal in appearance and are attached to a rod with pins and closed with a traverse style mechanism. Curtains, on the other hand, are often shirred onto a stationary rod or hugn with tabs or grommets and physically need to be pushed aside to let light in. One of my favorite curtain styles is the tried and true cafe curtain.  My Mom always had them hanging at the kitchen window and it just seems so charming.  What a refreshing change from today’s window covering choices like woven blinds or shutters.  Don’t get me wrong, I love big fat plantation shutters or the texture of woven blinds but if I had a kitchen window it would be dressed with old-fashioned cafe curtains.

Family Kitchen

In my childhood home the bathrooms also had curtains instead of the blinds you find in today’s homes; easy to maintain, adds color and pattern and provides total privacy.  These cafe curtains in this modern bath are crisp and clean, just like the room itself, but are totally functional in the space.  Love this room!
Curtains are the perfect choice for a bedroom for both children and adults.  Simple and elegant or fun and sassy, they are an affordable option to plantation shutters or expensive pinch pleated draperies
Girls Room

Cafe curtains are the perfect choice for utilitarian spaces like laundry or craft rooms.   Theyprovide privacy and let the natural light in at the same time.They can designed in any fabric be it a fun pattern to add a bit of whimsy or a beautiful traditional fabric like the one shown below.  And what a perfect solution for the lower areas you may want to disguise!

CC
So what do you think?  Are you ready to return to the past and hang cafe curtains in your home?
About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

