Anthropologie hits it out of the park

Anthropologie just introduced all the new arrivals in their House and Home department and boy did they get it right!  Along with the highly anticipated whimsical and unique items we have come to expect from them there are some classics that have been given a modern twist to suit today’s discerning homeowner.  Here are just a few of my favorites:

Give me green and give me velvet and I am one happy girl.  This green velvet chair is also available in more than a dozen other colors that will add just the right pop to a living or bedroom.  And just FYI, velvet is a big trend in both fashion and home decor right now.

things-i-love-green-velvet-rivona-chair-from-anthropologie

Rivona chair from Anthropologie

This whimsical cutting board is available in two dog breeds but considering that three of my “granddogs” are dachsunds my heart went out to this one.

things-i-love-dachsund-cutting-board-frm-anthro

Best in show cutting board from Anthropologie

I think that the unique and unusual are what sets any home apart from their neighbors, and this carved sideboard certainly falls into that category.  I can just see this piece in a rustic mountain cabin next to some plaid dining chairs and a rough hewn farm table with plenty of snow on the ground outside.  Ah..be still my heart!

things-i-love-land-and-sky-buffet-from-anthropologie

Land and sky buffet from Anthropologie

Texture, texture, texture!  This woven wall hanging would be perfect next to my newly upholstered dining room chairs, don’t you agree? (animal print is the “before”)

things-i-love-kilim-wall-art-from-anthropologie

Kilim wall art from Anthropologie

dining room chairs old and new

New fabric on right is a velvet chenille zigzag that feels so wonderful on the tusch!

And if you have followed this blog at all then you know about my love of anything acrylic.  If budget were of no consideration, this bed would be on its way to my home as we speak.  Oh yea, and if my husband shared my love of this modern material, but, sadly he does not.

things-i-love-oscarine-lucite-bed-from-anthropologie

Oscarine acrylic bed from Anthropologie

And anything with stripes and big colorful buttons will always catch my eye and this chair is no exception.

things-i-love-striped-and-tufted-chair-from-anthropologie-folkthread-chair

Folkthread chair from Anthropologie

What caught your eye in Anthropologie’s new collection?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

