A new source for one of a kind art

I have many passions.  I love unique art, I love random gallery walls and I love to find undiscovered talent.  My personal art collection features a variety of originals, prints, watercolors, oils, canvases and pieces done by my daughter and they are all proudly displayed throughout my home.  I hope they tell a story about the people who live there. Fortunately for all of us, I have discovered a new site that addresses all of my passions—Artlifting.com

Artlifting offers original and print wall art as well as an array of fun items like tote bags, coffee mugs ,t-shirts and greeting cards.  And the best part of all of this is the fact that the artists featured are individuals who suffer through homelessness or disabilities that make it difficult for them to earn a living or live a normal life.  The idea that an otherwise unknown talent is being given the opportunity to use their talent to earn a living is so exciting for someone like me who loves art that has a back story.  Just take a look at some of the amazing creations that are available to all of us.  And you thought you couldn’t afford original art!!

Prints are an affordable way to fill your home with artwork that is pleasing or memorable to you.  Imagine a gallery wall of unique art that might represent your travels or hometown or favorite vacation destination.  So much better than a fuzzy iphone picture.  This depiction of Bear’s stadium, for example, would be a fun way to remember that game of a lifetime or your favorite team.  The artist, Krishaun Williams, suffers from a mental illness that has hampered his ability to paint in the past. But with treatment he is now able to share his lifelong love of the Chicago Bears with all of us.

design art bears stadium by krishaun williams via artliftingdotcom

Bears stadium by Krishaun Williams available at artlifting.com

I absolutely love these whimsical floral paintings from Alicia Sterling Beach.  Living with a degenerative disease that results in constant pain, Alicia finds comfort in creating something memorable through her art.  A trio of these hung above the bed in a child’s room is a great way to introduce children to the beauty and appreciation of original art.

design art from artlivingdotcom by alicia sterling beach artist

Floral silver leaf original art by Alician Sterling Beach and available at artlifting.com

Posters are the most affordable way to add art to any space.  Imagine how inspiring this Yellow Saxophone poster could be if hung in a music class at school or in your own budding musician’s bedroom.  Charles Blackwell has been partially blind due to a childhood accident which only serves to make his talent even more inspiring.

design art saxophone poster form artlivingdotcom

Yellow Saxophone player by Charles Blackwell and available at artlifting.com

Please visit artlifting.com and help change the lives of these incredibly talented people.  I am certain you will find something that inspires you.

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

