A tisket, a tasket…what do I do with these baskets?

As an aging flower child from the seventies I have had a long love affair with baskets.  They are a great resource for decorative yet functional storage and add wonderful texture to any style decor.  And, while not a fan of plates hung on the wall (with the exception of this eclectic arrangment from West Elm)

design plates on wall from west elm

I do love an arrangement of baskets hung on the wall.  Below are some very stylish examples of baskets used as wall decor:

This wall grouping is the perfect compliment to the bamboo style headboard and traditional side table from Bunny Williams Home.

design baskets on wall from bunny williams home

The ultimate wall grouping, this works because all the baskets are in the same color family and as the other furnishings in the room.  You can imagine that a multi-colored arrangment like this would be overwhelming!

baskets on wall source unknown

source unknown

A more practical version of a monochromatic grouping.
San Anselmo Dining Room

 

A colorful wall arrangement that enhances the furniture style and overall color scheme of this room.  One of my all-time favorites.

Moroccan Modern

 

Colorful and very bohemian, this arrangement of baskets is so much more effective in this casual home than a large painting would be.

This appears to be an old tobacco basket but, whatever it is, it is perfectly scaled as  an above the bed piece of art.  And for those of us who live in earthquake country, soft enough to fall on our heads during a shaker!

Katerina Tana Design

 

How do you feel about baskets as wall decor?  Do you share my passion?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tisket, a tasket…what do I do with these baskets?

  1. hayniedi says:

    Thanks Patti. And I must admit none of these baskets can hold a candle to the art pieces you weave!

    Like

  2. Patti Chamberlin says:

    Love the baskets……of course being a basket weaver. Look forward to redecoration my house with you,

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

