Rooms I love and why

rooms I love by pottery barn featuring irving club chair gallery wall mix of woods black window molding mix of metals

My job requires that I spend most of my day looking at beautiful rooms.  I know, poor me!  As a result, I come across many beautiful rooms and, occasionally, some not so pretty rooms.  And occasionally I will spot a room that just resonates with me and that is what I am going to share with you today.

This room from Pottery Barn has, IMHO, all the elements of a beautiful room.  So, to steal a line from the great Elizabeth Barrett Browning–“How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways”

  1. The first thing that caught my eye was the dark window molding.  I am loving this trend of metal window and door trim and this room would be slightly less appealing if the window trim was standard vinyl or even wood frames.
  2. The mix of metals appeals to me.  The brass garden stool and lamp base and the bronze end table are a beautiful complement to the shiny silver of the frames.
  3. Textures galore!  The nubby carpet, the smooth leather, glass and metal frames and a mixture of accessories adds dimension and interest to the room.
  4. That gallery wall is, as my mother would have said, to die for.  Perfectly curated to showcase a variety of black and white photography and neutral artwork.

I also love the fact that this room does not “scream” a specific design style.  It could be found in any home i.e. a mountain cabin, a beach cottage or a suburban tract home.  And it lends itself to switching out accessories for different seasons and holidays, one of my favorite design tricks.  Can’t you just see a plaid or faux fur blanket tossed across the arm of the chair and a bowl of pinecones and seed pods in the winter months?  Or add a couple of pretty pillows, a lightweight throw and a piece of seashell art during the summer months.  For example, the subtle colors and subject matter of this pillow  lightens the feel of the room and also adds some pattern.

design succulent pillow from pottery barn succulent blossom

Succulent Blossom pillow from Pottery Barn

design throw from pottery barn in multiple colors abbott throw

Abbott throw from Pottery Barn

design seashell on stand from the simplied life via coastal design

Mounted shell from simplied life

What do you think?  Is this a room you could love?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

