3 interior decorating trends I love, 3 not so much

Hello, my name is Diane and I am an interior decorating addict.   ( I am in no way demeaning the importance of those organizations that use this phrase in their counseling sessions).  I must admit that I am unable to walk past a newsstand without glancing at the shelter magazines, although that number has shrunk substantially in the past several years.  My inbox is crammed full every day of decorating blog posts and I read each one of them for inspiration and enjoyment.  I am online all day sourcing fabrics and products for design clients.  For these reasons I consider myself somewhat of an expert on current design trends.  Some I love and hope they stick around forever, others—not so much.

I love

Greige.  I am always drawn to a neutral interior.  I find them calming and soothing and timelessly beautiful.  When gray became the “it” color it was difficult to find a shade that did not make a room look like the interior of a battleship.  But gray has evolved into a beautiful and warm shade that some clever person named “greige”–a mixture of beige and gray that is warm and inviting and truly a neutral that goes with every color in the rainbow.

Not so much

Lanterns.  I have always felt that a lantern belongs outdoors and fear that those hung over a dining room table or kitchen island will seem outdated very quickly.  Oh, I can hear all of your ranting about that as we speak!

I love

Black and white.  The stark contrast of this combo has always appealed to me and I am happy to see it coming back into vogue after years of trendy warmer color combinations.  But the real answer is I love black with any color and the more contrast the happier I am.  Every room needs a touch of black somewhere to anchor the room and provide a spot for the eye to land.  Picture frames, lamp shades, book jackets or fabrics with a touch of black will all work and can be incorporated into any color scheme or decor style.

Not so much

Trellis patterns.  I just feel like the trellis pattern has been overdone and it is time to say goodbye to trellis patterned rugs, drapes and fabrics.  Perfect for a sunroom or breakfast area but not so much in other areas of the home.  Again, I can hear you disagreeing with me right now!

I love

Design details.  Tufting, contrast welting, hand embroidery, button detailing, nailheads, pillow and drapery trim–all of these details add the finishing touch that is so important in design.

Not so much

Chalk paint.  Like all things, it has a time and a place but it seems to be applied to everything these days.  While I love painted furniture I lean more towards the high gloss enamel finish that really makes a statement vs. the shabby chic look of chalk paint.  How about we really go out on a limb and let the beauty of the wood stand on it’s own.

Vintage Coastal Beachy Nightstand Bedside

So what are some design trends you love and some not so much?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

