Ten things that made me happy in September 2015

  1.  The fact that I no longer have to worry about back to school makes me very happy.  This was always such a contradictory time for me—glad to be back on schedule and ready for the excitement of change but sad that it was back to homework, after school activities, late dinners on the run etc.  And it meant my daughter was a year older. I will leave all of that to the young moms of today…been there, done that!
  2. The final concert in the park on Coronado Island with our favorite little music lover joining us.
  3. Ending the month with a road trip…woo-hoo!
  4. Air conditioning.  Living 6 miles from the beach and on a hill, we do not often need air conditioning in San Diego but decided to install it last summer because our weather patterns had changed.  And every day last week when I walked into my cool and comfortable home I was very happy we made that decision!
  5. Having my article on apple picking in Julian published in Domino Magazine.
  6. This email from my daughter  “You’re the best. I know I tell you this all the time…but I seriously am so lucky to have a mom like you. You’re not only the best mom but you’re the best friend supporter!  Haha …I love you and thank you!”  Words every parent hopes to hear at some point in their lives!  I am one happy Mom!!
  7. Stores full of pumpkins from the real ones to scary ones to funny ones.  And I especially love the beautiful blown glass pumpkins like those found at the annual Stanford and MIT Glass Lab sales this month.  Exquisite!  But mostly I love the ones given to me by dear friends who know I enjoy them.
  8. MIT Glass Lab facebook

    MIT Glass Lab facebook

  9. Good food, good wine and good conversation until late at night with the good friends we visited on our road trip.
  10. New projects…I always get excited when I get the opportunity to work on a new decorating project.  Hours spent searching for the right fabric, furniture or inspiration always makes me happy.  I will share more on this project as it progresses.

What made you happy in September?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

