The lure of black and white striped interiors

I have always been attracted to to the graphic punch of black and white, in particular, black and white stripes.  I am drawn to this combination in my wardrobe and in interior design.  And it appears I have passed on the B+W stripe gene to my daughter as that is the accent combo she is using in her upcoming wedding.  The black and white striped apple does not fall far from the tree!

Take a look at these interiors and tell me if you are not falling in love with this combo as well:

This all white kitchen pops with the addition of a black and white striped rug and check out that vase/pitcher on the counter….love it!

Black and white striped rug in kitchen via south shore decorating blog

Black and white striped rug in kitchen via south shore decorating blog

This rug from Ikea has been popular for a couple of years now and is an affordable way to add this energetic look to any room in your home.

Stockholm rug from Ikea

Stockholm rug from Ikea

Throw pillows are always the easiest and most affordable way to introduce a specific color, pattern or trend into your interiors.

design black and white striped pillowsAre you hooked yet?  Maybe this will be the inspiration you need–

Not as graphic as the bold wide stripes but certainly chic and sophisticated. Lamp from Currey & Co.

Not as graphic as the bold wide stripes but certainly chic and sophisticated.
Exton Lamp from Currey & Co.

And here is a sneak peek at how it will be used in our daughter’s wedding next May

Are you hooked yet?  OK..one more try–

Photo by William Abranowicz via elle decor featuring Madeline Weinrib rug, Ralph lauren wallcovering

Photo by William Abranowicz via elle decor featuring Madeline Weinrib rug, Ralph lauren wallcovering

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

