A big thank you to all of our veterans and their families!

Captain Joseph P Harrison USN

Captain Joseph P Harrison  (Ret) USN

As I have matured I have come to realize and appreciate the true reason we celebrate Memorial Day.  It is not for a long weekend that marks the unofficial beginning of summer, it is not an excuse to have a beach party and haul out the bbq, or sleep in on a Monday morning.  (all good things, I might add)  Rather, it is an opportunity for all of us to take just a few moments to think about, understand and be grateful for those that gave the ultimate sacrifice, those that are in harm’s way now and those members of the military who support the fighting forces AND their families that are left behind.

As many of you know, I am the very proud daughter of a military hero.  I spent my entire childhood as a Navy Junior (as opposed to Army Brat) and my father lost his life way too early, not in battle, but as a result of the years of battle he did participate in and the chemicals he was exposed to.  He was buried in Arlington National Cemetery with full military honors and I miss him every single day.  And I know I am not alone in this situation or in these feelings.

thank you from cafepressdotcom

So, a big thank you to all of you who have served or are serving now or have lost a loved one in their time of service.  Just a few people who are close to me who have served:

Master Chief Ron Bowlin (Ret)-USN

PN2 Sheryl Bowlin

Lou Berger-WWII

Sr. Chief John Adler (Ret)

Master Chief Darel Handley (Ret)- USN

Capt Matt Warren-Army

Jerry Warren-Special Forces Vietnam War

and many more that I am not listing.  Thank someone special to you this weekend.

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

