Ten things that made me happy in April

1.  No words necessary!  Who wouldn’t be happy looking at these faces?!

ella and brendan in hat on easter 20152.  Easter cards.  They are such an unexpected surprise, especially when they come from friends who live cross country and we just don’t get a chance to catch up very often.

3.  Dare I say it again without jinxing it?  After rising almost back up to $4 per gallon gas prices are back down below $3.

4. Stepping outside and being “hit” with the scent of honeysuckle.

5. The return of “normal” weather in San Diego.  After the hottest March on record and the lack of any sort of winter, springtime appears to be normal.  Crisp mornings where the cloud cover burns off by 10:00 a.m. to clear blue skies and chilly evenings.  Everything just looks and smells so good!

6.  The annual Coronado Garden Show.  How lucky am I to live so close to such a beautiful area as Coronado?!  My girlfriend and I walk this every year and it is something I always look forward to.  What is better than an afternoon with a good friend strolling through beautiful neighborhoods and lunching in a sidewalk cafe?  Not much…..

7.  Taking care of my husband’s daughter’s dog, Penelope.  This little chihuahua has been in our family for 10 years and I never see her so it was a nice surprise to have her for a few days.  Definitely made me happy.

8.  My granddaughter’s first ballet recital.  I spent many, many years attending dance recitals with my own daughter so it brought back so many special memories.  I asked her if she was a ballerina and she responded with “Not quite yet, Grandma”.  So funny!  And so cute!!

9.  Being asked to go away for a weekend with our daughter and soon-to-be son-in-law.  How nice it is when your adult children want to spend time with you!  So we will all be celebrating his birthday in June basking in the sun in Palm Springs.  Can’t wait!

10. New patio furniture.  I had grown tired of the usual round table and 4 chairs, loveseat and two chair, matching table combo.  We traded in a 1/2 acre and three very large decks when we downsized for a small backyard and, since we rarely eat outside at this house but still enjoy entertaining outdoors I opted for a 5 piece “chat set” This includes a large round center table that can be used for casual dining as well as 4 very comfortable chairs that rock on their pedestal.  I can’t wait for warm summer evenings spent outdoors with my favorite recipe–a glass of good wine, good friends and great “chats.”  This is how it looked when we began the remodel and I will share the new look next month, just in time for summer.  Care to stop by for a cocktail?

Backyard before remodel

Backyard before remodel

What made you happy in April of 2015?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

