Funky chair delight

Has anyone been watching the new Ellen’s Design Challenge on HGTV?  If you are a lover of unique and true one-of-a-kind furniture pieces, you will not only love this show but be amazed by the talent out there, as I am.  And if you have ever worked with me you probably questioned at some point why I was trying to convince you to find a “funky” chair for some area of your home.  The answer is that, as a designer, I try to make sure all my clients’ homes feature a statement piece that is not only unique but representative of “them”;  and I love the unexpected in furniture design, in particular chairs, so the combination of a funky chair in a client’s home seems like a natural fit.

“Funky” can mean different things to different people.  To me it simply means a chair that is distinctive or unusual–maybe even a little offbeat, in form, color, material, fabric etc.  It can be fully functional or simply a piece of functional art.  Here are a few samples of what I would refer to as funky:

Mackenzie Childs has cornered the market on funky as seen here with her Freckle Fish side chair

Mackenzie Childs has cornered the market on funky as seen here with her Freckle Fish side chair.  The perfect unique touch for a beach house.

Tall and lean, funky chair in the entry is a nice counterpart to all the traditional furnishings in this beautiful home. via south coast blog

Tall and lean, the unexpected chair in the entry is a nice counterpart to all the traditional furnishings in this beautiful home.
via south coast blog

A true one of a kind chair from ad espana magazine via jason mowen blog

A true one of a kind chair from ad espana magazine via jason mowen blog

Metal peacock chair source unknown

Certainly would not curl up with a good book but funky does not always mean comfy! Metal peacock chair source unknown

Easy to accomplish with just the right amount of funky fabric via the painted house

Easy to accomplish with just the right amount of funky fabric via the painted house

Alligator chair certainly falls into the funkychair category via south shore decorating blog

Alligator chair certainly falls into the funky chair category–a little creepy, I will admit but certainly makes a statement. via south shore decorating blog

Skirted chair looks like it has feet.  Not large enough to sit on but provides a convenient spot for guests coats etc via atlanta homes

Skirted chair looks like it has little feet. Not large enough to sit on but provides a convenient spot for guests coats etc via atlanta homes

Is a nice compliment to the other unique furniture in the space

The distinctive design of this modern chair is a nice compliment to the other unique furniture in the space

And I follow my own advice with this funky chair that sits in my den.  Lovingly named the “Cat” chair by the artist, Jerry, (if only I could remember his last name), we purchased this chair from the Design in Wood exhibit at the San Diego Fair.

"Cat" chair in my den DH Design San Diego CA  92111

“Cat” chair in my den
DH Design
San Diego CA 92111

If you are in the market for that one special piece I highly recommend you take the time to tour this exhibit.  And remember, the hunt is part of the fun!

How do you define funky and what piece of funk do you have in your home?

If you are interested in more funky chairs check out this article in the latest edition of GOOP.

 

 

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

