Not just for martinis

 

istockphoto

istockphoto

You might think that the plump green olive shown above is simply meant to enhance your favorite adult beverage or as a snack to be enjoyed during the holidays.  But I am here to tell you that the color of this delectable little snack is one of the hottest home decor hues for the upcoming year.

Olive green is a yellow based green that, surprisingly, works well with many colors.  It is warm and inviting and can be introduced into a contemporary space just as easily as into a rustic or traditional interior.

Check out these olive green home decor ideas:

This collection of fabrics from Robert Allen show how well olive green coordinates with blue, brown, gray, gold and even eggplant.

Pablos Passion from Larry Laslo collection for Robert Allen Fabrics

Love the earthy look of this lamp achieved by the glazing technique and wooden base.

Urn style table lamp from 1st Dibs

Urn style table lamp from 1st Dibs

Also love the mix of colors in this room featuring an olive green accent wall.  Look closely and you will see just about every color in the rainbow–pink, purple, blue and yellow along with a mix of wood tones and metal.   Such a versatile shade of green!

Is this a color you would use in your home?  If so, please share your ideas with the rest of us.  Now excuse me while I mix a martini–shaken, not stirred and two olives please.
About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not just for martinis

  1. lulu says:

    Olive green is definitely an example of what goes around comes around. Remember the 70’s? I like it best as an accent rather than a wall color.

    Like

    • hayniedi says:

      Great point Lulu, We just named it after another veggie i.e. avocado. I agree that it is probably a color best used in moderation. We can only hope that the next “come around” is not the Santa Fe look of the eigthties!!

      Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

