Sweater, sweater who’s got the sweater

Several years ago I introduced you to this idea of taking old sweaters and creating a sweater “cozy” and my very talented friend, Julie, did just that.  She made wonderful vases out of cable knit sweaters that I continue to use every fall and winter season.  The following year retailers like Crate n Barrel tried to fake us out with ceramic vases that were supposed to look like sweaters but it was not the same thing!  After all, what is warm and cozy about cold ceramic?  I will take the real thing.

Well, sweater “art” has taken it a step further and some very creative people have come up with other ways to use discarded sweaters that I find just yummy.

Velvet pumpkins with real stems from plush pumpkins.com

Velvet pumpkins with real stems from plush pumpkins.com

Have you seen those velvet pumpkins (shown above)  for sale that can literally run into the hundreds of dollars, partly because of the cost of quality velvet and partly due to the fact that they use real pumpkin stems?  Personally, I think these sweater pumpkins are so much cuter and cozier, don’t you agree?

courtesy of Stone Gable blog

courtesy of Stone Gable blog

http://www.stonegableblog.com/2012/10/sweater-pumpkins.html

How about these sweater pillows.  If you are not a DIY’er (as I am not) you can purchase similar pillows at Pottery Barn but a quick trip to the Goodwill or local thrift shop and you can make these yourself.

Cable knit pillow covers from Pottery Barn

Cable knit pillow covers from Pottery Barn

All we need now is a cozy fire, some roasted marshmallows and a warming adult beverage and we are ready to settle in for a chilly autumn night.  Can you think of any other ways to use discarded sweaters in your home decor?  If so, please share.

Must be time for a gratuitous cute baby pic of my precious EllaBella.

Maybe this will bring the Chargers good luck for the next game...boy could they use it!!

Maybe this will bring the Chargers good luck for the next game…boy could they use it!!

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

