How I escaped from closet hell!

While quietly enjoying a glass of wine and early evening conversation with my husband one night we were interrupted by a very loud and scary noise coming from upstairs.  We cautiously  ran upstairs to locate the source of this sound only to discover this—

closet disaster 3and this

closet disaster 2Our closet had imploded on itself.  I spared you the horrible pics of the final fall when everything was simply a four foot high pile of clothes on the floor!

During the remodel we had installed temporary wire closet shelves and rods so we could get our clothes out of the wardrobe boxes.  I apparently have a few too many clothes for these wimpy wire shelves.  Fortunately, a friend came to our immediate rescue with four commercial garment racks that we spread throughout the upstairs bedrooms, and even in the brand new shower in the guest bath, to house our clothes until we could get a new closet system designed and installed.

Rick's clothes hanging in our newly tiled guest shower

Rick’s clothes hanging in our newly tiled guest shower

My very sweet husband offered to give me the entire closet (still not sure where we will put his clothes permanently, working on a couple of ideas).  While this is a walk-in closet it is only 8×8 so I decided to remove the door since it opens onto a small hallway into the master bath and the door really does take up a lot of usable space, space that was to become floor to ceiling shoe storage (oh, be still my heart).  I chose to design the layout myself and had our amazing handyman install it which saved me about $5000.  The end result:

Same view as the mess from above—now houses two rods for shirts and jackets along with a space (not in the pic) for full length dresses, robes etc.  I apologize for the very blurry iphone images.

closet new image

Portion of floor to ceiling shoe storage..still working on getting all shoes into those clear boxes with proper labels but the yellow sticky pads work quite well!

closet shoes

closet other side 3

And every well respecting closet needs a chandelier!

closet light fixture

Difficult to see in the pics but I also installed pull out wire bins to hold all my flip flops and baseball caps as well as three drawers attached to the wall that house nighties, sweatpants and socks.  Also working on getting matching hangers but that is a slow (and costly) process.  But you can bet I will continue to say my prayers every night as closet hell is not a place I want to visit again anytime soon!devil toy

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I escaped from closet hell!

  1. Oh my, I’m sure that was quite the shock to see all of your clothes on the floor!! Yay for an organized new closet system!

    Like

  2. OMG, Diane. I can’t believe all those shoes !

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

