A star is born ….my debut on national (OK, cable) TV

From Etsy

From Etsy

After 8 months of waiting we have finally learned that my episode of TLC’s “My First Home” will air Saturday June 1st at 12:30 p.m. both eastern and pacific time on The Learning Channel.  If you want to relive those exciting four days of filming you can revisit my posts but let me just recap by saying that, while I was dreading every minute of it, filming this show turned out to be one of the most enjoyable experiences I have had in a very long time.

Ok…now on to the stuff giving me gray hairs…..

  • I am terrified that I am going to be edited to the point of appearing like either the Wicked Witch of the West or like a quiet little mouse that just stands there, nods her head in agreement and/or rolls her eyes.  And, if you know me at all you know that I am neither one of those things.
  • My wardrobe choices were off every single day due to weather changes or misinformation on how many outfits I needed.  Seems everyone got that memo but me, a point that will become quite clear when you check out the perfectly put together ensembles of both Kate and her realtor Carol.
  • I learned that the camera really does pack on the pounds, something I really don’t need, so who knows what angles will be shown.
  • But there is also the very embarrassing possibility that I will end up on the cutting room floor as my friend Kate is the real “Star” and she knows how to work the camera.  But, on the serious side, I do hope they produce graphics of the design ideas we had for Kate’s place that were true to my suggestions and I am anxious to see the artwork.

Oh well, no more worries…..it was a once in a lifetime experience that I am so grateful to have had and cannot say enough nice things about the wonderful, funny, hard-working, not to mention gorgeous, crew that we worked with.  So be sure and set your DVRs, tivo or whatever you techie people use to records shows and remember, reality TV is NOT real so BE KIND!!

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A star is born ….my debut on national (OK, cable) TV

  1. Pingback: After being on TV I now understand the importance of good lighting and a gratuitous cute baby pic | Empty Nest Remodelers

Would love to hear your thoughts

