Stairway to heaven

One of the things I have learned about a remodel is not to be in a hurry.  That certainly held true when it came to carpeting our stairway!  We waited until all the painting, moving, demolition and handy work was done in order to protect the carpet.  That was finally completed and the new carpet was installed just last week.  Praise the lord!  It is amazing to me how we as humans adjust to things over time like stepping over the same spot on the carpet that was rough from spilled paint and felt like little needles on your bare feet or unconsciously avoiding the throw rugs that stick up in order to avoid tripping and how I still do those things even though I have cushy new carpet.  Oh well….take a look at these before and afters….pretty amazing if I do say so myself.

Before:  Stairway to hell….disgusting carpet that had survived years of renters.  Filthy Navajo White paint, beat up railing

Stairway to hell....old disgusting carpet, filthy white walls

 

After:  Stairway to heaven!  Beautiful new carpet from Lowe’s, mirror from Crate and Barrel, small stool from Horchow but I have had it for years, Wash. D>C> prints from Etsy shop that is now closed, light fixture from Pottery Barn (looks like the good witch Glenda should be arriving, doesn’t it?), leaded glass window (not shown) installed several years ago and we kept it during the remodel and glass cross bottles from referral from Velvet and Linen and I cannot remember the name of the artist to save me.  If you are in the market for those beautiful glass bottles with the cross bottle stoppers, let me know and I will try to locate this wonderful artist.  Unit at top of stairs is from Ethan Allen many years ago but I think it is still available.  (apologize for the blurry phone pics)

condo stairs after 1

 

condo top of stairs

Still to do:

  • Paint railings glossy black
  • Hang gallery wall at top of stairs

Downstairs remodel almost done but stay tuned for the amazing backyard transformation!

 

gratuituous granddaughter pic.. scrumptious!

ella smiling

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

