HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY and HAPPY DECORATING

PHOTO COURTESY OF Lynn at For Love or Funny bloghttp://www.forloveorfunny.com/2013/02/why-valentines-day-is-stupid/

PHOTO COURTESY OF Lynn at For Love or Funny blog
http://www.forloveorfunny.com/2013/02/why-valentines-day-is-stupid/

Isn’t this beautiful and so much better than red roses, I think.  Of course, anything related to snow gets me.  BTW..this photo is courtesy of the very talented Lynn at For Love or Funny blog…check it out, you will enjoy a laugh a day, I promise.

Valentine’s Day is not a big deal in my household.  Well, it is not a big deal to my husband.  He says he doesn’t like to be forced by Hallmark to express his feelings on a certain day.  And that would sound like a good excuse if he weren’t generous and thoughtful throughout the year so I consider myself lucky.  But I assure you there is always a valentine next to his bed when he awakes and I think he would miss it if I didn’t do it, but maybe not.  And, of course, valentines for my daughter and this year, for delicious Ella Bella, the best valentine gift of all!

Ella feeling very proud in her Daddy's headphones.  OMG, she is so cute!

Ella feeling very proud in her Daddy’s headphones. OMG, she is so cute!

Now, on to decorating.  Red is one of my favorite colors to decorate with and I have used it in my home since forever.  I am not a fan of painting walls red but I do like touches of red and currently it is in the form of red welting on my greige leather chairs, in photo frames and even my barstool seats are shiny red leather.  So don’t be afraid to introduce this color into your decorating even if it is just a touch here or there.

Can you spot all the red in my family room?

Can you spot all the red in my family room?

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY and HAPPY DECORATING

  1. tracizeller says:

    I love a touch of red!!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

