What do skiing and interior design have in common?

What do skiing and interior design have in common?  In order to justify taking a week off to shush down the slopes I have been asking myself that question.  Here are the excuses, er, uh, good reasons I came up with:

  • Both offer inspiration for upcoming jobs.  Are you aware of the enduring all-white trend in home decor?
  • Mother Nature always comes up with some surprising color combinations and interesting textures.  (this is a really good excuse as it is so true and I often do get inspired by what she offers up)
  • Mountain cabins and lodges provide plenty of inspiration for all of those ski homes I design (wish!)

Best I can do.

Now, on to the fun skiing adventure.  Did you know that your car thermostat will register below zero temperatures?  We have proof—-

car temp

Yes, dear readers, that says minus eight degrees!  MINUS EIGHT!!  Sorry, I had to shout it since it was so unbelievable.  And that was only 6:00 p.m. in the evening.  We heard it dropped to 45 below during the night.  I guess that is the only way afore-mentioned Mother Nature can make icicles like this—-

icicle

Yes, that is an icicle, not a frozen jellyfish or a clump of snow.

And did you also know that power goes out in extreme temperatures like that?  At exactly 3:30 in the afternoon the entire mountain shut down and we had no power until midnight.  Now, remember, it is already below zero outside and quickly getting there inside as well.  We spent the entire evening in the bar (:)) because they were able to light the large firepit  for some warmth and some light.  There was no food but the kitchen was able to scrounge up some cold ham and cheese sandwiches and in Utah, the only alcohol they could serve was beer and wine (no problem) so there we all stayed until there was nothing further to do but head down the long dark hallways to our rooms and snuggle under about four layers of blankets and down comforters.  Fortunately, my Paul Bunyon husband had flashlights, extra batteries and matches….made me so proud to call myself his wife!

If you know me then you know that I absolutely love to ski and be surrounded by wonderful evergreen trees, sparkling like diamonds (another favorite of mine) hillsides, fun times with good friends and warm and cozy clothing.  In fact, I am absolutely certain that this is what I look like when I step out onto the slopes

Jacket from Gorsuch

Jacket from Gorsuch

But, alas, this is reality

me and sheryl skiing

Hey…I told you it was cold.   There was a frost bite warning and we were advised not to allow any area of skin to be left uncovered.  I made the mistake of stopping on the slopes to add some glove liners to my already frozen fingers only to have to go inside after that run because my fingers would not warm up after being exposed for just a minute.  Do people actually live like this?  We are back in my warm and sunny San Diego and I have never been so grateful for summer like temps in the dead of winter.  Now, what was I saying about interior decorating?

If you have an interior design question you would like answered please list it in the comment section and I will get back to you immediately.  If you have a question about skiing, I am afraid I can’t help you….green is my favorite color on the slopes.

A gratuitous grandbaby pic…can you guess where Ella was while Grandma and Grandpa were skiing?

ella at disneyland sleepiing

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What do skiing and interior design have in common?

  1. diane says:

    It certainly is Morgan and aren’t you glad we live in San Diego

    Like

  2. Morgan says:

    Oh my goodness! -8 degrees! That is cooooold.

    Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Hey Diane,
    Can you email me with your phone number when you have a minute. I have a decorating question for you. My email is sharladd@cox.net. Thanks Diane!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

