Aaaaaaaaand….we have cabinets!

The upper cabinets were installed today, drawers were set in place and doors were added to the lower cabinets, all resulting in a set of kitchen cabinets that are, as my late mother would say “to die for”.

As you can see, I chose a very simple Shaker style cabinet.  I like the simplicity and timelessness of this design and, in my opinion, they stay much cleaner than cabinets with lots of carving and grooves.  I decided to have the cabinets finished in a shiny off-white enamel that is easy to clean and can stand up to many years of use as I don’t plan on remodeling this kitchen ever again!

Hardware is always a tough choice because there are literally thousands to choose from.  I chose clear glass balls (there they are again) for the small drawers and simple brushed nickel pulls for the doors and larger drawers. (all purchased at San Diego Hardware)  In shopping for these I realized how important it is to try them out as each one feels different in your hands.

I opted for three sided glass cabinets on the open side of the kitchen to allow as much light as possible into this once dark kitchen and sitting room.  Many people do not like glass cabinets that hold everyday dishes but I like that look.  After all, function first and kitchen cabinets certainly need to be functional.  These will hold our clear glasses, white dishes and other items on higher shelves that we dont use as often.

I didn’t go for all the fancy schmancy new items that can be put in a kitchen these days i.e. spice cabinets, pull out tray storage, knife drawers, etc.  I did place a carousel in the corner cabinet and am looking forward to seeing how that works but other than that everything is pretty ordinary.  I requested large drawers for silverware and utensils as we have lots of these and I dont like crowded drawers.  The small drawers will be used for pot holders and dish towels.  These were put there to hide a weird corner that had to be there for structural reasons and I just love the look, don’t you?  This just might be my favorite thing in the whole kitchen!

Appliances will be installed after the flooring goes in on the 23rd and we actually might be able to eat a meal at home!  Imagine that!!!  Another thank you to all of our friends and family who took pity on us and had us over for delicious home-cooked meals eaten on real plates in a clean environment.  Oh how we take for granted the small things in life!

Update…this draft was written but never posted because I did not have any photos yet.  Since then we have had almost full installation of the kitchen appliances, hardwood flooring and white subway tile backsplash. I will keep you in suspense for just a couple more days until it is all completed and I will reveal my new kitchen in all it’s glory.  stay tuned……………

 

 

 

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aaaaaaaaand….we have cabinets!

  1. Hello! I was so happy to get your great comment and I understand now what you know about change. You too are an empty-nester and starting over. I can’t wait to see your kitchen transformation, it sounds like it’s going to be beautiful. We are living in this huge mess. Cabinets ordered but not nearly as far as you. We have a rental is San Diego that one day we’d like to move back into. That is if we ever get to retire?!! So pleased to meet you and look forward to following you along.
    Cheers,
    Deb

    Like

    • hayniedi says:

      Thanks, Deb, for following along. My mother was from England (near York) and, in fact, never became an American citizen even though she was married to my Dad for 45 years before they both passed away. It really is a small world. Let me know if I can ever check on your San Diego place for anything. Take care diane

      Like

  2. mydesignchic says:

    I am dying to see it all – love simple shaker cabinets and can’t wait to see the glossy white and hardware!

    Like