Houston we have a dryer!!

These days it is the small stuff that the Haynies are celebrating and we are now celebrating the fact that our dryer finally works and we will have clean skivvies!

The long and sad saga of our dryer is not worth sharing other than to say that, while my husband is a fantastic and ethical lawyer, a loving and giving father and a sweet and generous husband, he is not a handyman.  However, he did finally, after three unsuccessful attempts at plumbing stores, get the correct gas adaptor and that shiny silver stuff that vents your dryer and actually connected the dryer.  We did the happy dance and shared a high five but our joy was short lived.  The house immediately filled with a horrible electrical burning smell that prompted us to immediately shut the dryer off and march, once again, down the street to visit Sandy’s dryer..

Sears, of course, could not come out and take a look at my dryer that is only 6 months old for at least several days.  They did arrive today, however, and not only “deemed my dryer safe” but also leveled my washing machine that was doing its own happy dance every time the spin cycle hit.

I am now very happily doing several loads of laundry that I will be able to dry, fold and put away.  Now if only we could solve the problem of having no place to put things away…..anyone want to share a closet with us?

If it weren’t for the kindness of our friends and their dryers we would have no friends as the aroma coming from us would be quite unpleasant.

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Houston we have a dryer!!

  1. Steve says:

    Hi kids from Lake Havasu — isn’t Sandy the BEST bud?!?!? Glad you/Rick making such progress — fun following your adventure! Love, Steve

    Like

  2. Best of luck to you guys! Looks great so far!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

