Let the fire begin!

fireplace before…white stucco walls, funky teeny tiney mantel someone installed, white chipped marble surround, filthy black firebox

In honor of the upcoming Summer Olympics let’s talk about flames.  Not the olympic flame but fireplace flames.  (quite a stretch, I know)  Here is a before of my lovely living room fireplace.  It sure makes you want to cozy up with a good book on a rainy night doesn’t it?  NOT!  While the redo is not complete it will have a beautiful new foam fireplace surround and exquisite brown  marble tiles.  In the meantime, I did  want to share a couple of fireplace facts:

Did you know that you can paint the interior of a fireplace?  There is special fire resistant paint available, now in many designer colors such as the metallic sand I chose, that will turn that big black hole into something attractive.  Take a look at my new fireplace interior–

new painted interior with a sneak peek at the brown marble to the left

I also wanted to share the name of a great chimney sweep.  The experts recommend that your fireplace be cleaned and inspected annually to prevent chimney fires, more often if you burn wood for long periods of time.  Gas fireplaces and logs may not need as much attention.  I found a great guy, Eron Armour, that I wanted to pass on to you.  He is timely, efficient, affordable and very friendly.  There was not one speck of soot or dust in my house, although it would not have mattered at this point.  He inspected and cleaned the chimney in about 30 minutes.  Keep in mind that my chimney had never been inspected or cleaned in the past 30 years so sit was quite a dirty job.  He also painted the interior for me and removed all the old gas logs, grate and leftover ashes.  Great guy and I would recommend him to anyone who is looking to get their fireplace ready for the upcoming fall and winter months.  Here is their link http://armourchimneyservice.com.  Tell them Diane sent you.  It won’t get you any kind of discount but it is always friendly!

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your thoughts

