Reliving childhood dreams through the set of Scandal

When I was younger I, like most young girls, had so many dreams for the future.  One in particular was my dream of becoming a translator for the United Nations, fueled by my love of the french language.  I fancied myself living a very sophisticated life in a high-rise apartment in NYC, far from the small town of Pacific Grove where I lived.  Fast forward more years than I care to count and my life in no way resembles that dream other than my continued love of the french language.  (check out french word a day blog where you will receive a new word each day if you, too, enjoy this beautiful language).

Fortunately for  me I am able to relive the sophisticated apartment aspect of my fantasies through Olivia Pope’s antics on the popular new show Scandal.  I love her elegant apartment and I only wish I preferred red wine over my favored chardonnay so I could drink it in a large balloon wine glass with the longest stem I have ever seen.  All this while sitting around my beautifully styled living room in white satin pajamas.  The soft, neutral colors, mix of wood and metal and a combination of contemporary lines and modern artwork paired with traditional moldings and rug really appeals to me and is similar to how I decorate my own home.

Architectural Digest has made it possible for us to take a close look at the “apartment”  and other sets and offers some insight from the set designers as to why they made their design decisions.  You can read that article here and below is just a teaser at the eye candy you will find in the latest issue.

 

Scandal set--apartment of Olivia Pope photo Danny Feld/ABC via Architectural Digest

Scandal set–apartment of Olivia Pope
photo Danny Feld/ABC via Architectural Digest

Are you re-living any childhood fantasies through TV and/or movies?  Keep in mind, this is a family blog  LOL

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 27 year old daughter, wife to my semi-retired lawyer husband and step-grandma to two delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with interior decorating and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and move back into the first home we bought when we were first married that has been a rental for the past 15 years. I will share our experience with remodeling as well as other ideas and thoughts that I hope will inspire you.
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reliving childhood dreams through the set of Scandal

  1. Lakesha says:

    That’s what we’ve all been waiting for! Great postnig!

    Like

  2. lulu says:

    I’ve been watching Sons of Anarchy and thankfully there’s nothing there even remotely familiar!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts