I loved this article from ElleDecor (and a gratuitous baby pic)

ella dresswed in jewels and tutus oct 2013

All dressed up and ready for a day of home decor shopping!

I loved this short article from Elle Decor.  After all, at some point we have to grow up and the items in our home should reflect our more adult status.

One of my favorites was their number 1 “Art you love”.  Art does not have to be expensive; all you have to do is love to look at it and it will work in your home.  A drawing from one of your kids, a poster of your favorite vacation spot or a watercolor you found on Etsy, all beautifully framed of course, will personalize your home.

To #5 I would add, a bed frame that lifts your bed up off the floor.  Gone are the days of putting your mattress on the floor.  A simple metal bed frame is very affordable or go for broke and purchase a platform bed, upholstered or otherwise, for an updated and grown-up look.

To #6, I would add that a collection should be properly displayed in your home to fully enjoy the fact that it is a collection.  Group like items together for full impact and appreciation.  And keep in mind that we are talking about a “grown up” home so your collection of shot glasses or mardi gras necklaces does not count!

Along with quality “forever” furniture, you will begin to enjoy adding beautiful and meaningful items to your home’s decor.

About hayniedi

What about me? In a nutshell I am a middle-aged interior designer and freelance writer, mother of an amazing 24 year old daughter, wife to my lawyer husband and step-grandma to three delicious babies. From my earliest memories I have been fascinated with the design world and love to share my passion for beautiful rooms, luscious fabrics and innovative ideas with anyone who will listen. Join me on this blog as my husband and I enter our empty nest years and tackle a remodel of our first home that has been a rental for 15 years. I can only hope that both we and our marriage survives!
This entry was posted in Decorating and remodeling tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I loved this article from ElleDecor (and a gratuitous baby pic)

  1. Lisa Goulet says:

    Adding art that you love is a great way to make your space yours. Thanks for the thoughtful post, Diane. And with an adorable baby to boot!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts

